Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home About Catalog Contact
Logue Library

*Political Science: Crime USA and Abroad

Crime USA - Part 1

Crime in the United States (local, regional & national)

Print copy: REF HV6783 .A85 2000

Contains a plethora of crime and law enforcementrelated statistics at the federal, state and local levels.

Provides access to full text publications, press releases and statistical tables and data sets.

Provides crime data by institution or groups of institutions. Group data available as downloaded data files.

Provides map links to crime events and report of criminal activity in Cincinnati (summary and district reports). Enter city or address for a map of crime events by city or specific location.

Langsam Reference HV6787 .C57

"Crime in the United States" (CIUS) is an annual compilation of criminal statistics produced by the Uniform Crime Reporting system of the Federal Bureau of Investigation. It is compiled from over 17,000 law enforcement agencies. CIUS includes data on the volume and rate of crime in the U.S., as well as data on arrests, clearances and law enforcement employees. Online data is available from 1995 to the current year. Data for earlier years is available from the print publication, "Uniform Crime Reports for the United States."

Provides state rankings for a wide range of statistics, including arrests, corrections, drugs, finances, juveniles, law enforcement offences.

Provides state rankings for a wide range of statistics, including arrests, corrections, drugs, finances, juveniles, law enforcement offences.

Presents 110 tables with detailed data on major variables measured by the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS).Presents 110 tables with detailed data on major variables measured by the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS).Provides 110 tablse with detailed data on major variables measured the the National Crime Victimization Survey.

Staticstics compiled under the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports Program

Provides links to publications containing series of charts that show homicide patterns and trends in the United States from 1980 to 2008.

  •  

Crime USA - Part 2

  • Justice statistics: an extended look at crime in the United States

  • Generally this publication reproduces statistical tables from the Bureau of Justice and FBI, but in a more user friendly format with some additional expository narrative. The e-book is divided into 11 chapters, mostly crime data but 3 chapters delve into correctional, probation & parole and recidivism data

     

 

NCVS is the Nation's primary source of information on criminal victimization.

Provides a link to Annual Bulletins from 1993 to the most current issue.

Comprehensive aggregation of crime related statistics.

·          

Data from more than 100 different government and non-government sources. Collection of more than 6,000 current and historical data series on on high-interest research topics dating back more than 20 years. Discover, view, and export key information measures for State Stats and Local Stats. Topics including: Agriculture, Crime and Law Enforcement, Defense, Economy, Education, Education and Culture, Employment and Labor, Geography, Government Finances: Federal, Government Finances: State And Local, Health, Households And Housing, Immigration, Population, Population And Politics, Religion, Social Welfare, and Transportation. Product includes: Local Stats, State Stats, and Business Stats.

These annual reports, produced jointly by the Bureau of Justice Statistics and National Center for Education Statistics, presents data on school crime and safety from the perspectives of students, teachers, and principals.

The Sourcebook is no longer published. This online version (2013) comes via the Internet Archive. The Sourcebook gathers together data from more than 100 sources, including over 600 statistical tables related to criminal activity, law enforcement, courts, public opinion, prosecution, sentencing and corrections (including parole, jails and prisons).

Langsam REF HA202 .A1
Provides a wide variety of statistics dealing with the political, social, and economic organization of the United States, in a work originally issued by the Bureau of the Census and now published by ProQuest. Also includes a substantial amount of United States crime data and some international data. This resource also is an invaluable index to the resources/agencies that produce the data found in the tables contained in this volume.

Statistics for offenses and types of arrests for all campuses, including University Hospital. NOTE: Crime statistics are located at the end of this document.)

The National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS) provides information of characteristics of victims, including age, race, ethnicity, gender, marital status and household income.

The National Crime Victimization Survey provides publications, press releases and data tables regarding all aspects of victimization in the United States.

Crime International

Provides a vast amount of crime data via a combination of online data (via reports) and downloadable data sets on crimes (including expanded focus on homicides) and the criminal justice system (persons detained, prosecuted & convicted as well as criminal justice resources). Also includes historic data from 1970 to 2002.

 

The Sourcebook (5th ed, 2015) provides facts and statistics related to criminal activity, law enforcement, prosecution, convictions and corrections.

 

The European Institute for Crime Prevention and Control provides a substantive analysis of retrospective crime data. Most data in within the range of 1990 to 2008.

 

United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime provides international crime and corrections statistics.

Provides links to a wide range of criminal justice and law enforcement statistics for continents and most major countries. Includes U.S. Dept. of State human rights reports consistently for most geographical entities.

Provides an excellent descriptions of the criminal justice systems of 47 countries, but very little crime data. Published in 2003; the information is dated.

Contact   Directions   Hours   WebMail   Blackboard   MyCHC